Ixtapa Zihuatanejo - Government of the City (Municipality) and State

For holiday and festivity dates (official, religious, etc.), see bottom of this page

Governments of the City & State

Brief description of the City
& Municipality Government:

As of May 6th, 2008 and as stated on Decree No. 450 of the Congress of the State of Guerrero, our municipality changed its name to Municipio de Zihuatanejo de Azueta. From its creation until that time it bore the name of "Municipio de José Azueta"

The Ayuntamiento Municipal (Municipality City Hall) resides in the City of Zihuatanejo and is composed by the Presidente Municipal (Municipal President or Mayor), two Sindico Procurador (a comptroller with similar duties of a C.A.O.), twelve Regidores (Councilmen, representatives of political parties that have obtained at least 3% of the votes) and a Secretario General (Secretary General). The Secretary General is an appointed officer and consequently he doesn't have a vote in the City Council.

Presidente Municipal
Homero Rodriguez Rodriguez
Interim Municipal President
Elected Municipal President
Gustavo Garcia Bello
Municipal President
(with license)
2015 - 2018

Our present Municipal President is Lic. Gustavo Garcia Bello. He assumed office on September 30th, 2015. His political affiliation is to the P.R.D. (Partido de la Revolucion Democratica). He is a lawyer and in the past he held offices in municipality and state administrations.

The present City Council is formed by eight representatives of the P.R.D. party (Partido de la Revolución Democrática) that are the "Presidente Municipal", the two "Síndicos" and five "Regidores", also by four "Regidores" of the P.R.I party (Partido Revolucionario Institucional), by one "Regidor" of the P.H. party (Partido Humanista), one "Regidor" of the M.C. party (Partido Movimiento Ciudadano) and one "Regidor" of the MORENA party (Partido Movimiento Regeneración Nacional).

The term in office is three years and the Council members may be reelected to the same office for the immediate subsequent term for one time. The next election for "Presidente Municipal", "Sindicos", Regidores and "Diputados Locales" (District Congressman) will be held the first Sunday in June 2018.

Due to changes in the electoral laws, as of the past elections, the elected persons can run for reelection to the same office in the immediate subsequent term for one time. If they are reelected, then they must wait a full term to contend again for the same office.

The Ayuntamiento has more than fifiteen Direcciones Municipales (Area Directors) with the responsibilities of Treasury, Public Works, Public Safety, Urban Development, Public Services, Public Sanitation, Tourism, Economy Development, Business Activities, etc., as with the par-municipal Potable Water System known as C.A.P.A.Z. which stands for Comisión de Agua Potable y Alcantarillado de Zihuatanejo (Zihuatanejo's Potable Water and Sewer Commission)

Our Municipality was created on December 23rd., 1953 by petition of the people of Zihuatanejo during the administration of State Governor Lic. Alejandro Gomez Maganda. The decree was enforced on January 1st., 1954 and by consensus Sr. Dario Galeana Farfan was appointed as the first President of the Consejo Municipal (Municipal Council) until the first official election, one year later.

Previous Shield   Present Shield
Previous Shield
1954 - 2000
  Present Shield

In mid 2000 a contest was held between local artists and designers in order to modernize and upgrade our municipal shield.

The population is approximately 100000 inhabitants of which more than 60000 live in the urban area of Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo and nearby towns. It has approximately 160 communities, 15 Comisarías Ejidales (Commissary) and same number of Comisarías Municipales. The elected and appointed commissaries represent the interests of the people and the government in those rural locations.

The extension of our Municipality is approximately 2,000 Km2 (494210 sq. acres). It is located in the area know as Costa Grande (the long shore) in the State of Guerrero. To the north are municipalities of Coyuca de Catalan and Coahuayutla, to the south the Pacific Ocean, to the west municipality of La Union and to the east municipality of Petatlan. Its territory is mostly a large flat land edging the ocean and medium to tall mountains to the north, with exuberant vegetation where many fine woods are found.

The main activities are tourism, primarily in Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo and nearby places, fishing, cattle raising and agriculture with corn, mango, papaya, bananas, etc.

In Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo there are permanent State Government's Delegation Offices such as State Tourism Bureau, State Transportation Bureau, etc.

For information of offices and phone numbers of our Municipal Government (City Hall), visit its website (in Spanish) click here (new window will open)

Brief description of our State...

Guerrero is located in the south part of the Mexico's Republic. To the north the States of Michoacan and Morelos, to the south the Pacific Ocean, to the east the States of Puebla and Oaxaca and to the west the State of Michoacan. It has 81 Municipios (Municipalities) and some of its major cities are Acapulco, Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, Chilpancingo, Iguala and Taxco. Its extension is 63794 Km2 (15763840 sq. acres) and it was created on October 27th., 1849. It takes its name in honor of General Vicente Guerrero (1782-1831) a patriot in Mexico's independence revolution.

Elected Governor
Hector Astudillo Flores
State Governor
2015 - 2021

Our present Governor is Lic. Hector Astudillo Flores who took office on October 27th, 2015. His political affiliation is to the P.R.I. (Partido Revolucionario Institucional) political party. He is a lawyer graduated from the UNAM (Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico). Past offices held by him are Federal Senator (2000-2006), District Congressman (1994-1997, 1999-1999 and 2012-2015), Municipal President of the City of Chilpancingo (1996-1999 and 2009-2012), among other positions held in the state government and within his political party.


Our State Government resides in the State Capitol, the City of Chilpancingo, located midway between Mexico City and Acapulco. All State Secretaries have their offices at the Capitol city with the exception of the Tourism Secretary whose office is located in Acapulco.

Guerrero has 46 Diputados Locales (District Congressmen) in the State Congress House, 9 Diputados Estatales (State Congressmen) in the Federal Congress House and 3 Senadores (Senators) in the Federal Legislature.

The term in office of the Governor is 6 years and the present state administration ends on October 2015 on which day the new administration will take office. Next election for Governor will be held on the first Sunday of June 2021.

If you want to see more information about the Government of the State of Guerrero click here for its website. In Spanish only. (new window will open)

Federal Government...

Elected President
Enrique Peña Nieto
President of Mexico
2012 - 2018

If you would like to read news about our President and the Federal Government, click here for the Presidency of the Republic information website. Select English language at site. (new window will open)

Holidays & Festivities...

Holidays Chart

School vacations: Middle of December to first week in January, holy week, middle of July to middle of August, official holidays and SEP (Secretary of Public Education) designated days.


Notice: If there is NO MENU on the left part of your screen, we recommend
entering our site the proper way to be able to browse all pages.  CLICK HERE

News Board